Drivers Skills Test
Please read the special instructions below before proceeding to make sure that you are eligible to make this appointment. Please print this information for your records.
Special Instructions

Learner’s Permit Holders Requirements (by age)


Age 18 or under


(without HS Diploma or its equivalent)

18 years old


 (with HS diploma or its equivalent)

Ages 19-24

25 and older

Minimum holding period before skills test

9 months

3 months

3 months

45 days

With moving violation conviction or Probation Before Judgements (PBJ’s)

9 months

9 months

9 months

9 months



Special Instructions (Class C)


** For the safety of you and our staff, MDOT MVA will be temporarily modifying the non-commercial driving skills test. Applicants will be tested on several components on an MDOT MVA closed course including: vehicle inspection, pull-in parking, three-point turn and back-in parking. In an effort to promote social distancing, the driver’s license testing agent will score the test from outside of the car. There will be no road test portion, however these maneuvers fulfill all safety requirements. For additional information, please visit**


Applicants who have a valid or expired Out-of-Country driver’s license, OR an expired Maryland, Out-of State or Washington, DC driver’s license that has been expired for one-1 year or more, are required to take all tests.  Applicants should go to any MVA full service branch office to complete the vision screening, document review, knowledge test and skills test. 


If you have any issues while registering online for your driving skills test, please call 1-410-768-7000 or 1-800-492-4575 TTY for the Hearing Impaired for assistance in scheduling a skills test appointment. Please listen to the whole message to hear the prompt to press #7, then #2 to speak to a Customer Service Representative so you can schedule an appointment. Your knowledge test scores must be valid at the time your skills test is scheduled.


If you do not successfully pass the test on your 1st or 2nd attempt, you must wait at least 7 days in between each subsequent test.


At the end of this appointment transaction process, you will receive a confirmation number that will assist you in verifying your appointment through our Manage Scheduled Appointments tab on the Appointment Scheduling System. You can use this confirmation number and your date of birth to confirm your appointment online or if you need to change or cancel your test appointment.


Automobile Special Instructions


Please familiarize yourself with the “How to prepare for your Driver’s Test” manual. It contains very important information regarding the skills test and the safety check that is performed on the vehicle at the time of the test. This manual can be found online at:


The following items must be presented at the time of your test appointment (class C):


1.  Current Maryland learner’s permit (and Maryland license or Out-of-Country or expired out-of-state or DC license if appropriate);

2.  Driver’s Education Certificate (if it was not submitted electronically by the school);

3.  Completed skills log book certifying practice hours (required for first time driver’s only);

4.  Accompanying driver and the valid driver’s license of this individual that is bringing you for testing;

5.  A valid Registration card for the vehicle that is being used for testing. The vehicle must be properly insured and tagged with 1 (one) or 2 (two) tags as required by the state or jurisdiction it is registered in.

6.  All class C noncommercial test applicants should come prepared with a test vehicle that is in safe operating condition and has at least 1/2 tank of gas. The test applicant and the responsible adult must complete and sign an MDOT MVA “Certification of Insurance & Authorization to Operate Vehicleform before the skills test can begin.

Motorcycle Special Instructions (class M)

The following items must be presented at the time of your test appointment (class M):


1.  Current Maryland learner’s permit (and license, if applicable).

2.  Driver’s Education Certificate if it was not submitted electronically by the school (if the applicant does not already have a noncommercial class C or higher Maryland driver’s license) if this is a GLS permit.

3.  Completed skills log book certifying practice hours if this is your first driver’s license;

4.  Legally registered, insured and tagged motorcycle with a valid registration card for that test vehicle.  

5.  Class "M" motorcycle applicants must have their accompanying driver with them on another motorcycle or standing next to them.  That individual will be required to show their driver’s license to the examiner prior to the examination being administered.

6.  An applicant driving the motorcycle to the driving test must be accompanied by a person properly licensed to drive a motorcycle who is at least 21 years old and has held a motorcycle license for 3 years or more. 

7.  A younger or less experienced holder of a motorcycle license may drive the motorcycle to the examination station and to the starting point where the examiner begins the driving test.